Updated: January 12th, 2023

McKenna Cup: Derry 0-10 Tyrone 0-10

A fantastic long-range point from Lachlan Murray with the last kick of the game secured a valuable draw for the Oak Leafers at Owenbeg on Wednesday night.

Game recap

Derry 0-10 Tyrone 0-10

It looked like Rory Gallagher’s team were destined for defeat when they trailed by 0-9 to 0-3 after 39 minutes, but they dominated the contest thereafter; the reigning Ulster champions claiming a hard-fought draw against Tyrone.

Tyrone would only score one more point, as Derry steadily reeled them in.

A third point of the night from Shane McGuigan really got them rolling, and then further scores from Niall Toner, who displayed great accuracy in front of the posts kept the Oak Leafers in touch.

In what was a frantic closing ten minutes, Brendan Rogers kicked a long-range effort from the right to move his side to within a single point.

The two teams exchanged late opportunities in the six minutes of additional time but it was Lachlan Murray’s late intervention that proved decisive. The Desertmartin man cleanly striking from over forty yards to confidently secure the equaliser.

The draw ensures Derry will play in the semi-finals of the traditional pre-season competition, where they will meet Down at Pairc Esler on Sunday (January 15th).

Teams and scorers

Derry scorers: Shane McGuigan (0-3, 2f), Niall Toner (0-4, 3f), Conor Doherty (0-1), Brendan Rogers (0-1), Lachlan Murray (0-1)

Tyrone scorers: Cormac Munroe (0-1), Niall Sludden (0-1), Conor Meyler (0-1), Cathal McShane (0-5, 2f), Richie Donnelly (0-1), Brian Kennedy (0-1)

Derry: Odhran Lynch, Mark Doherty, Eoin McEvoy, Conor McCluskey, Conor Doherty, Gareth McKinless, Padraig McGrogan, Paul Cassidy, Brendan Rogers, Niall Toner, Padriag Cassidy, Niall Loughlin, Ben McCarron, Shane McGuigan, Lachlan Murray. (Subs) Oisin McWilliams for N Loughlin, 27mins; Declan Cassidy for M Doherty, 38mins; Anton Tohill for B McCarron, 42mins; Niall O’Donnell for D Cassidy (inj), 61mins.

Yellow Cards: G McKinless, 20 & 70mins; Padraig Cassidy 70mins; Red Cards: G McKinless, 70mins.

Tyrone: Benny Gallen, Nathan McCarron, Cormac Munroe, Paudie Hampsey, Cormac Quinn, Peter Harte, Niall Devlin, Brian Kennedy, Richie Donnelly, Conor Meyler, Conn Kilpatrick, Niall Sludden, Cathal McShane, Mattie Donnelly, David Mulgrew. (Subs) Michael McKernan for C Quinn, HT; Kieran McGeary for N Sludden, 43mins; Emmett McNabb for David Mulgrew, 59mins; Darragh Canavan for M Donnelly, 59mins; Frank Burns for R Donnelly, 72mins.

Yellow Cards: C Kilpatrick, 40mins; R Donnelly, 53mins; E McNabb, 71mins; Red Cards: P Hampsey, 70mins.

Referee: Niall Cullen (Fermanagh)

Match highlights

Post-match reaction