Updated: February 8th, 2020

Allianz Football League 2020: the story so far…

Courtesy of GAA.ie

Allianz Football League Division Three

Sunday February 9th: DERRY 0-10 TIPPERARY 0-6

Tipperary had to play with 12 men at one stage against Derry and limped their way to a 0-10 to 0-6 defeat at Celtic Park.

It was Derry’s first win of League this year, after they took a 0-4 to 0-3 lead into half-time in a slugfest.

Tipperary had a dreadful second half with Steven O’Brien and Daire Brennan both red carded, while John Meagher and Alan Campbell were shown black.

Derry went through the gears and worked their way to a five-point win with the prolific Shane McGuigan accounting for 0-7.

DERRY: Odhran Lynch, Carlus McWilliams, Brendan Rogers, Liam McGoldrick (0-1), Shea Downey, Padraig McGrogan, Niall Keenan (0-1), Ciaran McFaul, Chrissy McKaigue, Emmett Bradley, Padraig Cassidy, Danny Tallon, Benny Heron, Shane McGuigan (0-7), Niall Toner (0-1).

Derry Subs: Alex Doherty for P Cassidy, 58mins; Christopher Bradley for Emmett Bradley, 63mins; Declan Cassidy for N Toner, 70mins; Conor Doherty for B Heron, 72mins; Conor McAtamney for D Tallon, 73mins; 

Referee: Jerome Henry (Mayo)

Saturday January 25th: DERRY 2-11 LEITRIM 1-14

Ciaran McFaul was the hero for Derry who fought back to secure a 2-11 to 1-14 draw at the death against Leitrim in the Division 3 opener at Celtic Park.

These sides were promoted last season, with the Ulster outfit winning both games, including the Division 4 decider at Croke Park.

Leitrim had also suffered a 30-point hammering at the hands of Roscommon recently, but when Keith Beirne landed a 66th minute free they were in position for a shock win. Ben McCarron and McFaul combined to score two late points and earn a share of the spoils.

Derry were 1-8 to 1-7 ahead at half-time after Emmett Bradley cancelled out Cillian McGloin’s goal. Shane McGuigan fired a second Derry effort in the 46th minute but Beirne pushed Leitrim back in front only to be thwarted.

DERRY: Odhrán Lynch, Conor McCluskey, Padraig McGrogan, Liam McGoldrick, Brendan Rogers, Chrissy McKaigue (0-01), Conor Doherty, Gavin O’Neill, Emmett Bradley (1-02, 0-02f), Eoghan Duffy (0-01), Danny Tallon, Ciaran McFaul (0-01), Ben McCarron (0-01), Ryan Bell (0-02, 0-01f), Christopher Bradley.

Derry Subs: Shane McGuigan (1-01, 0-01f) for C Bradley, 41mins; Niall Toner for G O’Neill, 53mins; Niall Keenan for L McGoldrick, 55mins; Alex Doherty for E Duffy, 60mins; Carlus McWilliams for C Doherty, 65mins;

Referee: Noel Mooney (Cavan)

Saturday February 1st: DOWN 0-14 DERRY 0-12

Down went top of Division Three in the National Football League on Saturday evening while Paul Galvin claimed his first competitive victory as Wexford manager in Division Four.

Both Derry and Down drew their opening games, and this time around it was a straight shootout between Donal O’Hare and Shane McGuigan at Páirc Esler in Newry. The Down forward was eclipsed by his Derry counterpart but came out on the winning side, on a 0-14 to 0-12 scoreline.

O’Hare (0-3) and McGuigan (0-4) dominated proceedings in the first half and it was Derry who took a narrow 0-8 to 0-7 lead into the break. McGuigan scored inside the opening minute only for Jerome Johnston to equalise moments later.

Derry took their most decisive lead in the 26th minute when Alex Doherty scored, but O’Hare and Cory Quinn quickly replied. O’Hare rounded off the first half scoring and Down were still right in the game.

McGuigan scored first after half-time but Down never gave up, and were level when O’Hare scored 12 minutes into the second half.

McGuigan and O’Hare traded points but Barry O’Hagan put Down in front with four minutes of normal time remaining and they held on at the death.

DERRY: Odhrán Lynch, Liam McGoldrick, Brendan Rogers, Conor McCluskey; Padraig McGrogan, Niall Keenan, Shea Downey (0-01), Chrissy McKaigue (0-01), Emmett Bradley, Ciaran McFaul, Padraig Cassidy, Danny Tallon, Benny Heron (0-01), Shane McGuigan (0-07, 0-04f), Alex Doherty (0-01)

Derry Subs: Niall Toner for Heron (50), Ryan Bell for A Doherty (55), Conor Doherty for McCluskey (57), Christopher Bradley (0-01) for Keenan (67), Gavin O’Neill for Downey (70+1)

Referee: Padraig Hughes (Armagh)