Updated: January 22nd, 2023

Derry win 2023 McKenna Cup

Derry lifted the Dr McKenna Cup title on Saturday night following a strong performance against Tyrone at the Athletic Grounds.

Shane McGuigan with the Dr McKenna Cup

Game Recap

Courtesy of GAA.ie

Derry 3-11 Tyrone 1-5

These are encouraging times for Derry, who finished strongly to secure a Dr McKenna Cup final win over Tyrone at the Athletic Grounds.

Rory Gallagher’s charges dominated the majority of the first half, eventually departing 0-7 to 0-1 ahead at the turnaround.

A number of missed Derry goal chances was a significant factor with Tyrone commencing the second period brightly.

Tyrone struck 1-3 without reply to draw level in the 47th minute, but Derry responded impressively to earn silverware.

Niall Toner and Shane McGuigan were prominent initially for Derry, who accumulated a healthy half-time advantage.

After the restart Niall Devlin and Cathal McShane contributed points before Darren McCurry’s opportunistic goal in the 40th minute.

Then Niall Morgan landed a 45 and suddenly Tyrone were back trading on level terms, 0-7 to 1-4.

Paul Cassidy replied with a point from play for Derry with Shane McGuigan subsequently netting a 55th minute penalty as Gallagher’s outfit seized control.

Moments later Oisín McWilliams added a second Derry major, steering them 2-8 to 1-5 clear.

In the closing stages Niall O’Donnell sealed the deal with a third Derry goal.

Teams and scorers

Scorers for Derry: Shane McGuigan 1-2 (1-0 pen, 1f), Oisín McWilliams and Niall O’Donnell 1-1 each, Niall Toner 0-3 (2fs), Lachlan Murray 0-2 (1f), Padraig McGrogan and Paul Cassidy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tyrone: Darren McCurry 1-1 (1f), Liam Nugent, Niall Devlin, Cathal McShane, and Niall Morgan (45) 0-1 each.

Derry: Odhran Lynch, Eoin McEvoy, Padraig McGrogan, Conor McCluskey, Gareth McKinless, Conor Doherty, Padraig Cassidy, Paul Cassidy, Brendan Rogers, Ben McCarron, Niall Toner, Oisin McWilliams, Benny Heron, Shane McGuigan, Lachlan Murray. 

Subs: Niall O’Donnell for L Murray (HT) Paul McNeill for O McWilliams (60), Mark Doherty for B McCarron (68), Kevin Johnston for S McGuigan (70), Anton Tohill for B Heron (70).

Tyrone: Benny Gallen, Nathan McCarron, Cormac Monroe, Padraig Hamspey, Peter Og McCartan, Michael McKernan, Niall Devlin, Brian Kennedy, Richard Donnelly, Conn Kilpatrick, David Mulgrew, Kieran McGeary, Darren McCurry, Matthew Donnelly, Liam Nugent.

Subs: Niall Morgan for B Gallen (27), Peter Harte for R Donnelly (29), Cathal McShane for M Donnelly (HT), Conor Meyler for P Og McCartan (HT), Emmett McNabb for L Nugent (50) Frank Burns for K McGeary (63) Niall Sludden for D McCurry (63).

Referee: Conor Doureen (Cavan).

Post-match reaction and highlights