Updated: July 6th, 2023

2023 Club Championship Group Stages

The makeup of the group stages of the 2023 Derry club championships have been confirmed.

Premier Electrics Derry Junior Football Championship

Craigbane were Derry Junior Football Champions in 2022. Photo: George Sweeney

Group A: Ballymaguigan, Ballerin, Glack, Ardmore, Drum

Group B: Doire Trasna, Magilligan, Moneymore, Sean Dolans, Doire Colmcille

  • 2 Round Robin Groups of 5 teams ​ 
  • Clubs will play 5 rounds  = 4 games  =  2 home and 2 away. 
  • Top 3 teams in each group secure Quarter Final Place​ 
  • Qualifier – 4th Place Group A v 5th  Place Group B, and 4th Place Group B v 5th Place Group A for remaining Quarter Final Places. 

McFeely Group Derry Intermediate Football Championship

Brian Mullan claims the 2022 Derry Intermediate Championship for Glenullin

Group A: Banagher, Drumsurn, Foreglen, Limavady, Faughanvale, Craigbane, Lissan

Group B: Claudy, Glenullin, Castledawson, Desertmartin, Greenlough, Slaughtmanus

  • 2 Round Robin Groups  – one group of 7 teams and one of 6 teams 
  • Group A will have 7 teams and play 3 home and 3 away games.​ 
  • Group B will have 6 teams and play 2 home, 2 away and one neutral game.​  
  • Top 4 in each group after all rounds will advance to IFC Quarter Finals.​ 
  • Quarter Finals will be seeded 1v4  and 2v3​ 
  • The semi-final will be open draw and repeat pairings allowed 

O’Neills Derry Senior Football Championship

Following back to back Derry senior championships, Glen will aim for three in a row in 2023

Group A: Glen, Lavey, Dungiven, Swatragh, Ballinascreen, Coleraine, Bellaghy

Group B: Slaughtneil, Newbridge, Ballinderry, Magherafelt, Kilrea, Loup, Steelstown

  • 2 Round Robin Groups of 7​ teams, each team will play 6 games, 3 home and 3 away.. 
  • Top 4 in each group advance to SFC Quarter Finals.  Seeded 1v4 2v3​ 
  • Semi Final is open draw and repeat pairings allowed. 

Leadon Timberframe Derry Hurling Championships

Slaughtneil continued to dominate in 2022, winning a record 10th consecutive title

Group A: Slaughtneil, Ballinascreen, Swatragh, Na Magha

Group B: Kevin Lynch’s, Eoghan Rua, Banagher, Lavey

  • The top team in each group after the round robin games will play in the Senior Hurling Final. 
  • The 2nd placed team in each group after the round robin games will play in the Intermediate Hurling Final. 
  • The 3rd placed team in each group after the round robin games will play in the Junior Hurling Final. 
  • A team can only progress to Ulster in their respective grade if they retain their Championship status from the previous season, or if they drop one grade, i.e. Senior to Intermediate or Intermediate to Junior. A senior team from the previous season cannot compete in Ulster at Junior level. 
  • Banagher remain ineligible for Intermediate in 2023. 

All dates, times and fixtures will be confirmed by Derry CCC

Master Fixture schedule

 O’Neills  SFC McFeely Group IFC Premier Electric JFC Oakleaf Restaurant Glenshane Coach Hire SRFC/IRFC  Rec Res Cup Leadon Timber Frame SHC/IHC/JHC 
Round Robin 1 6th Aug 6th Aug 6th Aug 6th Aug  28th July   
Round Robin 2 9th/30thAug 20th Sept *9th Aug 13th Aug 9th/30thAug 20th Sept * 20th  Aug  
Round Robin 3 13th Aug 13th Aug 27th Aug 13th Aug  10th Sept  
Round Robin 4 27th Aug 27th Aug 3rd Sept 27th Aug   
Round Robin 5 3rd Sept 3rd Sept 24th Sept 3rd Sept   
Round Robin 6 24th Sept 24th Sept  24th Sept   
Round Robin 7 1st Oct 1st Oct Group A only  1st Oct   
Prelim     15th Sept  
Round 1 (Qualifier)   1st Oct 2nd Oct 22nd Sept  
Quarter Final 8th Oct 8th Oct 8th Oct 11th Oct 6th Oct   
Semi Final 15th Oct 15th Oct 15th Oct 16th Oct 20th October  
Final 29th Oct 29th Oct 22nd Oct 22nd  Oct 27th October 17th Sept 
  • N.B. * alternate weekends as clubs will not play three games in one week, will have a bye on one weekend.